The Medieval Parish Church of St John The Baptist, Cynon Valley
Eight hundred years ago, monks, farmers and travellers moved through the Cynon Valley long before coal transformed the landscape. St John's Church may have stood on routes connecting monastic estates and the famous pilgrimage shrine at Penrhys
Today, the church remains one of the few surviving witnesses to that forgotten medieval world
St John’s is an iconic location. One of, if not the, oldest building in Cynon Valley - and possibly wider RCT - the church has stood in Aberdare since or before 1189. Long before the Industrial Revolution transformed Aberdare into a centre of iron and coal production, St John's was already at the heart of a small rural community
Despite its history, at present however, St John’s is only open to the community two hours per week, and exclusively for the purpose of worship. With very little conclusive information on the church, and many questions about its origins are still unanswered
Why was St John’s built here? | When was it constructed? | Who worshipped within its walls?
How did its construction affect the landscape of the town and the people in it? | Was Aberdare connected to medieval pilgrimage routes?
How did the growth of industry reshape both the landscape and our understanding of the church itself?
What was life like in Medieval Aberdare?
These questions have inspired a community-led research project undertaken by the St Elvan's Community Heritage Volunteers. Meeting on the first Monday of every month, the volunteers are exploring the history of St John's, medieval Aberdare and the wider Cynon Valley. Their research draws upon archaeology, historical documents, maps, local knowledge and surviving architectural evidence
It is often recorded that the church was completed in 1189, supported by the work of Geoffrey Evans, and by an archaeological examination in 1914 by George Halliday, the Diocesan architect, who dated the building’s foundations to around 1200, many aspects of the church's history remain uncertain. It is largely agreed that a church bearing the resemblance of St John’s was standing by the late thirteenth century. Centuries of rebuilding, restoration and change have left historians with as many questions as answers
With nineteenth century additions and conservation treatment, peeling back the layers on this building is not without its challenges
Dr Paul Webster, Senior Lecturer in Medieval History at Cardiff University once described St John's as a "jigsaw of time"
Rather than presenting a finished story, this project invites you to join an ongoing investigation into over 800 years of history
The following page contains research conducted by our volunteers. We invite you to explore the evidence, question our conclusions, share your knowledge and search further into the 800 year old history of St John the Baptist Church and medieval life within the Cynon Valley
If you have information, photographs, documents, memories or research that may help us better understand the history of St John's, please contact the Heritage & Community Officer at [email protected]
Whether you have a personal connection to St John's, an interest in local history, or thoughts on the future of the church, we would love to hear from you. Please complete our short heritage questionnaire
St John the Baptist Feedback Form
Early Medieval Aberdare
Medieval religious South Wales is often written about in regards to the Benedictines and Cistercians, and the land dispute between them. Coupled with the increasing tension between the Welsh and English during the thirteenth century, and the political manoeuvring and division of land that came with it, South Wales was a place of competing interests and shifting control. This remained true, even for Aberdare
The earliest record of 'Aberdare' came in 1203 on a Record of Litigation within the Cistercian Order concerning land at Buarth y Capel in Llanwono. Relating to the rearing of sheep on the land held both by the Cistercian Llantarnam and Margam abbeys, Aberdare is mentioned as a boundary mark
This document, carefully preserved in the British Museum, is of great importance as it gives the boundaries of the common, and refers to the River Cynon, and the Magna Pola, or the great pool - the present, famous, Llyn Fwr, and other local names as long ago as 1203 A.D. This places this document 12 years before the signing of the Magna Carta by King John. So we have historical evidence of the existence of Aberdare 800 years ago
|
"In like manner whatever lies between Rotheni Mawr (Greater Rhondda) and Taph (Taff) is to belong to Kaerliun (Caerleon) except that Margam is to have the common of Hyrwenworgan (Hirwaun Wrgan ie Hirwaun Common) from the Wrelec to Aberdare, and Margam quit-claims to Kaerliun the said Heneynewet (Ynis-Newydd) with the exception of Hyrwenworgan aforesaid"
Even though this is about land, it is nonetheless important as it attests to Aberdare holding some significance as early as the thirteenth century. Whether Aberdare at this point was a place of refuge for farmers and trade seekers or even a site of relief for pilgrims en route to the nearby Penrhys, an argument can begin to be formed attesting to a religious site, a church, being in Aberdare during the thirteenth century After the dispute between Margam and Llantarnam, it was the latter that owned Aberdare. By the end of the twelfth century, it is said that the town consisted of three farms - Hendre Baylie (which included Fedw Hir) Tyr yr Ergyd and Ffaldau in Llwydcoed and Cwmaman respectively. Due to Cistercian beliefs and practice, the monks of the abbey would have tended to this land |
Plas Draw
|
Walking between the abbey and the farm would have taken the monks across rolling, mountainous, landscapes. In Aberdare, tradition has it that there was a monks’ cell located at Plasdraw. Ynys Medwy or Meudwy (Hermit Meadow) may well be the origin of Ynys Meadow
Rev. Eilir Williams in the Aberdare Parish Magazine, 1885, states, "Most of the foundations of a church could then be traced together with portions of the walls where the chancel had stood" Perhaps there was a building even larger than a monks’ cell? He also states that up to the beginning of the 19th c. the walls were several feet high. Gardd Aberdâr states in 1853, that a few years previously gravestones could be seen on the site, but inscriptions were indecipherable An Archaeological Watching Brief conducted by the Monmouth Archaeology in 2006, during the ground works connected with the housing development at The Glades, Plas-Draw, unearthed a substantial amount of mortared stone walls alongside medieval pottery |
However, due to the nature of the site and over a century of heavy industrialisation, the site remains a mystery. Industry and its scarring on the landscape of Aberdare is a research dilemma. With so much altering, whether directly due to industry or with the increasing population of Aberdare, lots of visual information has been lost
The Glades Report, 2006, An Archaeological Watching Brief for W.D.L Homes Ltd.
The Glades Report, 2006, An Archaeological Watching Brief for W.D.L Homes Ltd.
Early St John's
St John’s as a local parish church would have been a place for religious refuge in the town. For those living here it would have been a weekly place of worship, but as monks from Llantarnam would have tended to their land and people from the wider area would have made their way to the pilgrimage site of Penrhys, the church, naturally, would have moulded and expanded. Whilst some of this is hypothetical, the church would have needed to hold, at least, a small congregation
As previously mentioned, visual information whilst researching St John’s cannot be proven to be overly reliable. Sometimes the appearance of a church or cathedral offers clues as to its foundations and history. In the case of St John’s, this is proven to be limited. Aside from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries additions and alterations, any medieval insignia has either been removed or is hidden amongst later changes. Looking towards other parish churches in Wales may offer more indication as to the stylistic history of St John’s. Trying to build a visual record for St John’s is necessary in order to establish a construction timeframe and to better understand the working conditions and materials used
Many of its existing features point towards the building's assumed date of 1189, including the arched doorway in the south wall and the nave. The arched doorway in the south wall that leads from the vestry is made from Sutton stone, quarried from Ogmore. The design of the doorway signifies the work of the Norman transitional period. This would have been the main entrance to the church with the vestry being added later. The vestry was built in 1795, and served as Aberdare’s very first day school, with as many as 60 pupils crammed inside
Within the main body of the church, we can see further links to the original features. For example, the nave walls rest on foundations of a ‘spur base’ which is typical of the medieval period. The nave walls are 39 inches thick and the interior would have been dark with the windows covered with parchment and the floor earthern. The font is a large, bold and traditional Norman styling with the same Sutton stone used for the doorway arch. The font is believed to be original to the 12th century church. Within the nave there is a visible piscina, which is a shallow stone basin for cleaning communion vessels, and an ‘Aumbry,’ used to store the church plates. These two features suggest the altar was originally housed within the nave
As previously mentioned, visual information whilst researching St John’s cannot be proven to be overly reliable. Sometimes the appearance of a church or cathedral offers clues as to its foundations and history. In the case of St John’s, this is proven to be limited. Aside from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries additions and alterations, any medieval insignia has either been removed or is hidden amongst later changes. Looking towards other parish churches in Wales may offer more indication as to the stylistic history of St John’s. Trying to build a visual record for St John’s is necessary in order to establish a construction timeframe and to better understand the working conditions and materials used
Many of its existing features point towards the building's assumed date of 1189, including the arched doorway in the south wall and the nave. The arched doorway in the south wall that leads from the vestry is made from Sutton stone, quarried from Ogmore. The design of the doorway signifies the work of the Norman transitional period. This would have been the main entrance to the church with the vestry being added later. The vestry was built in 1795, and served as Aberdare’s very first day school, with as many as 60 pupils crammed inside
Within the main body of the church, we can see further links to the original features. For example, the nave walls rest on foundations of a ‘spur base’ which is typical of the medieval period. The nave walls are 39 inches thick and the interior would have been dark with the windows covered with parchment and the floor earthern. The font is a large, bold and traditional Norman styling with the same Sutton stone used for the doorway arch. The font is believed to be original to the 12th century church. Within the nave there is a visible piscina, which is a shallow stone basin for cleaning communion vessels, and an ‘Aumbry,’ used to store the church plates. These two features suggest the altar was originally housed within the nave
Generally, churches after the twelfth century were made from stone, compared to a century prior whereby churches were largely built using other, more site specifically sourced, materials like timber. There are also instances of churches originally made of timber later being reconstructed using stone. In the case of St Johns’s, it can only be theorised that it existed as a timber church, a viable instance if the church was constructed later than the twelfth century especially with a growing attraction to the area by the Cistercians and the introduction of several farms
In this instance, it is also important to look at the locale and the surroundings of Aberdare. Although mountainous, the River Taff runs through the town. In addition, Aberdare is along a direct route to trade centres like Cardiff, of increasing importance when looking at trade routes in South Wales
With stone for St John’s reportedly coming from the Ogmore area, transporting such a material would have been somewhat complicated, but, undoubtedly, would have followed the trade and pilgrimage routes already established
In this instance, it is also important to look at the locale and the surroundings of Aberdare. Although mountainous, the River Taff runs through the town. In addition, Aberdare is along a direct route to trade centres like Cardiff, of increasing importance when looking at trade routes in South Wales
With stone for St John’s reportedly coming from the Ogmore area, transporting such a material would have been somewhat complicated, but, undoubtedly, would have followed the trade and pilgrimage routes already established
Trade, Commerce and Pilgrimage - Paths to Aberdare
‘Give them a wilderness or a forest, and in a few years you will find a dignified abbey in the midst of smiling plenty’
- Giraldus Cambrensis (Gerald of Wales)
When we think about medieval Aberdare, it is easy to imagine a small and isolated farming community. However, the valley may have been connected to a w much wider world than we often realise. One way of exploring this history is through sheep farming and the wool trade. The steep hillside surrounding Aberdare were not ideal for growing crops, but they were well suited to grazing sheep. As a result, sheep rearing became one of the foundations of Cistercian life in south Wales. Animal-oriented trade was pivotal to the upkeep of the monasteries. In the year 1336, records show that Margam ‘relied for support mostly’ upon its animals, with flocks running in large numbers and taken care of by monastic ‘keepers’
Wool was one of the most valuable commodities of the medieval world. The fleece from sheep grazing on the hills of South Wales did not simply remain local. It was sold across Britain and exported to mainland Europe. Records show that Margam Abbey had trading links with merchants in Ghent (Belgium) in 1250 and 1252, and in Douai (northern France) in 1271. These records also provide a rare glimpse into the lives of the monks themselves. Experienced monks were often responsible for conducting trade on behalf of their monasteries. Individuals such as Richard of Margam (1250) and Thomas de Haneworth of Tintern (1272) appear in surviving records as recurring figures. The wool trade was so important that medieval merchants kept records of the quantities and quality of wool being exported. One such source is the work of Pegolotti, albeit not entirely accurate, who recorded monasteries involved in the trade in the thirteenth-century, the number of sacks they exported and the value of their produce
Looking at the wider landscape of Aberdare, it is possible that wealth generated through this trade helped support the religious foundations and communities of the region. While the exact origins of St John's Church remain uncertain, the church emerged within a landscape shaped by farming, trade and the influence of the great monastic houses of South Wales
The table below shows the estimated number of sheep and wool exports associated with several monastic houses during the late thirteenth century according to Pegolotti, highlighting the scale of this important medieval industry
- Giraldus Cambrensis (Gerald of Wales)
When we think about medieval Aberdare, it is easy to imagine a small and isolated farming community. However, the valley may have been connected to a w much wider world than we often realise. One way of exploring this history is through sheep farming and the wool trade. The steep hillside surrounding Aberdare were not ideal for growing crops, but they were well suited to grazing sheep. As a result, sheep rearing became one of the foundations of Cistercian life in south Wales. Animal-oriented trade was pivotal to the upkeep of the monasteries. In the year 1336, records show that Margam ‘relied for support mostly’ upon its animals, with flocks running in large numbers and taken care of by monastic ‘keepers’
Wool was one of the most valuable commodities of the medieval world. The fleece from sheep grazing on the hills of South Wales did not simply remain local. It was sold across Britain and exported to mainland Europe. Records show that Margam Abbey had trading links with merchants in Ghent (Belgium) in 1250 and 1252, and in Douai (northern France) in 1271. These records also provide a rare glimpse into the lives of the monks themselves. Experienced monks were often responsible for conducting trade on behalf of their monasteries. Individuals such as Richard of Margam (1250) and Thomas de Haneworth of Tintern (1272) appear in surviving records as recurring figures. The wool trade was so important that medieval merchants kept records of the quantities and quality of wool being exported. One such source is the work of Pegolotti, albeit not entirely accurate, who recorded monasteries involved in the trade in the thirteenth-century, the number of sacks they exported and the value of their produce
Looking at the wider landscape of Aberdare, it is possible that wealth generated through this trade helped support the religious foundations and communities of the region. While the exact origins of St John's Church remain uncertain, the church emerged within a landscape shaped by farming, trade and the influence of the great monastic houses of South Wales
The table below shows the estimated number of sheep and wool exports associated with several monastic houses during the late thirteenth century according to Pegolotti, highlighting the scale of this important medieval industry
Abbey |
Sheep owned (c.1291) |
Wool produced for export (Pegolotti, 1274-1296) |
Margam (Morghana) |
5,245 |
25 sacks / £166 13s 8d est. |
Neath (Nietta) |
4,897 |
10 sacks / £53 6s 8d est. |
Tintern (Tanterna) |
3,264 |
15 sacks / £150 8d est. |
Caerleon/Llantarnam (Llantarname) |
588 |
8 sacks / £53 6s 8d est. |
Mapping St John's
With little concrete information surrounding either St John’s Church or medieval Aberdare, it is difficult to establish a timeline or assign precise dates to many of the events associated with the church's early history
When consulting maps, Aberdare appears only from the late sixteenth century onwards. By this time, it was clearly an established settlement, whether as a place of refuge, trade, worship or a combination of all three. The question remains..
What led Aberdare to this status?
It can be assumed that St John’s Church was built not only for the people in Aberdare, but, more likely, for the monks who stayed in the area rearing the sheep. What is not known, however, is was a pre-existing church on the site? Without a consecration date, it is practically impossible to say with certainty
The largest challenge facing research into St John's is the lack of accurate dating evidence. Whilst architectural features suggest a medieval origin, and documentary references confirm the existence of Aberdare by the the early thirteenth century, there remains a gap in the historical records between 1203 and the end of the sixteenth century
Yet it is within these gaps some of the most interesting questions emerge
Was there an earlier religious foundation in the area?
Did monks travelling between monastic estates worship here?
Was Aberdare connected to pilgrimage routes through south Wales?
Below is a collection of maps dating from the late sixteenth century onwards, showing the growth of Aberdare, and, where visible, the presence of St John's Church within the changing landscape
When consulting maps, Aberdare appears only from the late sixteenth century onwards. By this time, it was clearly an established settlement, whether as a place of refuge, trade, worship or a combination of all three. The question remains..
What led Aberdare to this status?
It can be assumed that St John’s Church was built not only for the people in Aberdare, but, more likely, for the monks who stayed in the area rearing the sheep. What is not known, however, is was a pre-existing church on the site? Without a consecration date, it is practically impossible to say with certainty
The largest challenge facing research into St John's is the lack of accurate dating evidence. Whilst architectural features suggest a medieval origin, and documentary references confirm the existence of Aberdare by the the early thirteenth century, there remains a gap in the historical records between 1203 and the end of the sixteenth century
Yet it is within these gaps some of the most interesting questions emerge
Was there an earlier religious foundation in the area?
Did monks travelling between monastic estates worship here?
Was Aberdare connected to pilgrimage routes through south Wales?
Below is a collection of maps dating from the late sixteenth century onwards, showing the growth of Aberdare, and, where visible, the presence of St John's Church within the changing landscape
Where Next?
This research represents only a small part of the story of St John's Church and Aberdare. Over the course of this project, we have uncovered evidence of monastic landholdings, medieval trade networks, possible pilgrimage routes and forgotten religious sites. Yet many questions remain unanswered.
For those aware of the wider history of the church, we question:
What became of the blue silk vestments, brass candlesticks, censer and cross removed from the church during the Reformation?
Is there any truth behind the story of the body said to be buried within the church wall?
Did Colonel Edward Edwards really die at the Alamo?
Would you like to see further research articles outlying these questions?
And what other stories have been forgotten as Aberdare changed around its oldest surviving building?
This research has shown that St John's is far more than an ancient church. It is a place where local, national and even international histories intersect
It is a rare survivor from a period of Aberdare's history that is often overlooked, standing centuries before the arrival of coal
The response from the community has already demonstrated the value of this history. A single 'Cadw Open Doors' event in 2025 welcomed 100 visitors through the doors of St John's in one day. Some travelled from Cardiff and Swansea, many sharing memories, asked questions and offering new avenues for research, demonstrating a genuine interest in the history of both the church and the wider Cynon Valley
That enthusiasm has helped shape this project and highlights the potential for St John's to become a focal point for heritage
There is still so much more to discover
If you have information, photographs, documents, memories or research that may help us better understand the history of St John's, please contact the Heritage & Community Officer at [email protected]
Whether you have a personal connection to St John's, an interest in local history, or thoughts on the future of the church, we would love to hear from you. Please complete our short heritage questionnaire
St John the Baptist Feedback Form
Dr Webster described St John's as a "jigsaw of time"
The next piece of that puzzle is us
For those aware of the wider history of the church, we question:
What became of the blue silk vestments, brass candlesticks, censer and cross removed from the church during the Reformation?
Is there any truth behind the story of the body said to be buried within the church wall?
Did Colonel Edward Edwards really die at the Alamo?
Would you like to see further research articles outlying these questions?
And what other stories have been forgotten as Aberdare changed around its oldest surviving building?
This research has shown that St John's is far more than an ancient church. It is a place where local, national and even international histories intersect
It is a rare survivor from a period of Aberdare's history that is often overlooked, standing centuries before the arrival of coal
The response from the community has already demonstrated the value of this history. A single 'Cadw Open Doors' event in 2025 welcomed 100 visitors through the doors of St John's in one day. Some travelled from Cardiff and Swansea, many sharing memories, asked questions and offering new avenues for research, demonstrating a genuine interest in the history of both the church and the wider Cynon Valley
That enthusiasm has helped shape this project and highlights the potential for St John's to become a focal point for heritage
There is still so much more to discover
If you have information, photographs, documents, memories or research that may help us better understand the history of St John's, please contact the Heritage & Community Officer at [email protected]
Whether you have a personal connection to St John's, an interest in local history, or thoughts on the future of the church, we would love to hear from you. Please complete our short heritage questionnaire
St John the Baptist Feedback Form
Dr Webster described St John's as a "jigsaw of time"
The next piece of that puzzle is us
Sources of Interest
F.G. Cowley, The Monastic Order in South Wales, 1066-1349
F.G. Cowley, The Cistercian Economy in Glamorgan, 1130-1349, Morgannwg
Holly Cross, The hidden evidence of early medieval ecclesiastical wealth in Wales (AD 600-1080), Archaeologia Cambrenis
Madeleine Grey, Preface to Cistercians in Wales and the West, Archaeologia Cambrnis
Madeleine Grey, Penrhys: The Archaeology of a Pilgrimage, Morgannwg
G.A. Holmes, A History of Medieval Glamorgan, Morgannwg
Natalia I. Petrovskaia, Real and Imaginary Towns in Medieval Wales
David H. Williams, The Welsh Cistercians
St Elvan's Community Heritage Trust wishes to give thanks to
Dr Paul Webster, Dr Madeline Grey, Angharad Davies and Rob Jones for their contributions to this research
A further thanks to our Heritage Research Volunteers
Our Heritage Research Group meets here at St Elvan's on the First Monday of each month at 1:30pm
All are welcome to attend and contribute to our ongoing research
This page was last updated on 24/06/2026









